Home > Reflection > MRes Dissertation ready for submission…

MRes Dissertation ready for submission…

It has been two months since my last post.  Blogging becomes a real struggle I find, when one is doing academic writing at the same time.  Good news is that the second major dissertation draft was accepted by my supervisor last week – with only a few minor tweaks.

2011 was a great year for me as a researcher.  From getting started on the first philosophy and research methods classes, later presenting the proposed research at the colloquium, then selecting a case study, collecting data, analyzing data, theorizing and finally writing it all up.  What a year!

Now it’s January 2012, the MRes dissertation is ready to submit and for the first time I feel ‘good’ that at last – I have something to say…. better said my research findings and theorizing has something to say i.e. wants to get ‘out there’ in the world!  Not only has this research progressed, my research skills have improved, along with the sense in which as a human being I have grown too!   As I look more deeply into the realities of the world, and how we can know what we know to any degree of certainty – has had a destabilizing effect, yet it is also quite satisfying to progress and understand better these debates.  Moreover, as this ability to ‘see’ and ‘understand’ the world improves – one’s research effectiveness improves along with it.

During 2012 I hopefully will have 2 or 3 opportunities to share my foundational research.  First at a conference in Abu Dhabi for practitioners at the Project to the Point conference.  Second, hopefully in Manchester I will be accepted to speak as the Making Projects Critical workshop, and perhaps even BAM in collaboration with my supervisors later in the year.

My PhD topic is also evolving quite rapidly and will build on my MRes research that looked into the effects of project life on project manager identities.  A five year roadmap is now on the wall, mapped out, and ready to go.

This is a short blog – but it is about finding the balance between sharing my progress and getting on with the outstanding papers, presentations, and MRes classes complete so I can migrate to PhD student ‘full’ later in 2012.

 

Categories: Reflection
  1. January 25, 2012 at 6:40 pm

    Kudos on the progress and it’s delivery! Will you speak more about your findings and how you hope to translate them to your upcoming doctoral reach?
    Jeffrey

  2. Ahmad
    January 29, 2012 at 12:06 am

    Congratulations my #phdchat friend 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

